Beach day

Yesterday I had big plans to hit the library and spend 3-4 hours working on homework. Exciting, right?

But before then, I was walking around Largo Mall which is a big, open mall with my mom. We were shopping for shoes for Anisah’s wedding since I’m still trying to find some. And it was just a beautiful day. Sunny with not much wind, just your typical March day in Florida.

And Mom turns to me as we’re walking to Target and says, “This is a perfect beach day. I’d love to go to the beach.”

Which got me thinking: spend a few hours soaking up the sun at the beach or spend a few hours doing homework surrounded by strangers?

So we headed for the beach! The sad thing is, even though I live just 15-20 minutes away from the beach, Sunday was the first time I’d been since August 2007. Why do I not go to the beach more often? I mean, I’m not a fan of salt water or getting sand in interesting places. I don’t like to see my body in a bathing suit (and I really don’t like seeing girls who are much heavier than me wear bikini’s. Yuck.). But the beach is so relaxing and peaceful.

I mean, it’s a whole different world when you go to the beach. Nobody is rushing around, trying to do a million things at once. People stroll. They build sand castles. They throw footballs and Frisbees around. It’s a way to escape.

Not everything was peaceful as something is seriously up with the birds. They stole a potato chip right out of my mom’s hand and a sandwich out of another guy’s hand! I mean, literally just swooped in and snatched it! And then they just congregate around the beach, staring people down, daring them to open up a bag of chips. It’s scary, man!

Anyway, it was a nice escape. We made plans to go A LOT more often. It was exciting to be so spontaneous. I like it. It doesn’t happen very often but I think I need to be more spontaneous and put some adventure and excitement back into my life!

EDIT: Hm…up to 400 hits on this blog but no comments? Come on. If you read this blog, comment! I promise I don’t bite!

One Response to “Beach day”

  1. The Nanny Says:

    I read! I promise I do, I’m just terrible at leaving comments!!!

    Oh, I love the beach…I’d give just about anything to be there right now. My name actually means “Thinking of the Ocean” in Greek 🙂

Leave a Reply

