Kicking. My. Butt.

I’m only taking 2 classes this semester, thanks to the fabulous educational system we have here in Florida. I was signed up for 4, found out my financial aid got canceled, and now I’m only taking 2. These are two pre-req classes I need to go further in the College of Journalism. I was taking another class, which I’m going to take in the summer (another pre-req) and a fourth online criminology class that I was taking because one of my scholarships required me to have a full load.

So I dropped those 2 classes after the first week of classes when I found out I had to find a way to pay for my own schooling.

And can I just say how badly these two classes are KICKING MY BUTT?

One of them is strictly online (although he does take time on Wednesday afternoon, during our normal scheduled classtime to go over the material) and each module is so extensive and booooring. I get through them the best as I can and now that I have my book (that I paid $8 for. That’s right. EIGHT DOLLARS…FOR A SCHOOL TEXTBOOK! My professor said we didn’t have to get the latest edition. Have I mentioned how much I love him?), I can hopefully do better on the tests. We’ll see, though.

The other class is MW mornings, 9:30 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. It’s a fun class. I like it. The teacher worked for 25 years with the St. Petersburg Times and has done a lot of other freelance work so she knows her stuff. And can I take a minute to brag on myself? On Wednesday, we were given the task to sift through tons and tons of AP wire stories on a group of mountain climbers who got stuck on Mount Hood (a mountain in Oregon) a few years ago. There had to be about 20 stories, dating from the minute they heard of the problem up until everyone was rescued. There were also stories relating to other people lost on the same mountain. So we were instructed to look through that material and construct a 900-word story that would be featured in National Geographic (not that we would get published, but you know…). So we only had 90 minutes to do this. I spent 1 hour looking at the material and just 30 minutes working on the story. I didn’t even have time to edit. So on Monday morning, our teacher came in and put the names of the top 3 stories on the board.

Um, guess whose name was on the list?

Yep. Yours truly. Ah. Amazing. Do you know how awesome that is? When I was doing teaching, I was always at the bottom. I was always the intern who needed so much extra work. My friends could whip up a lesson in 5 minutes and get rave reviews from their principal’s where I would work on a lesson 10 times until I perfected it, teach it to my students, and then get so-so reviews from my teacher. Obviously, teaching is not my thang.

ANYWHO, where was I? Oh, the class. Well, for this class we have to write EIGHT stories. And these stories have to be written with 3 different sources. I’m talking interview sources. I can’t use an easy-peasy website. For my first story, due tomorrow, I interviewed my grandma, who is a Stage IV colon cancer survivor and everything she went through in 2008, regarding finding out she had cancer and all that jazz. That interview took about 2 hours (but you have to understand us women – we analyze things to death so she would mention a time or date or something and we would have to talk about it for 15 minutes to make sure it was accurate, bleghhh). And then I had to find 2 other sources. Luckily (well, rather unluckily for her; lucky for me), she had to go up to the hospital on Friday to get a shot (her white blood cell count is super, super low so these are helping to get it up) so I spoke the the nurses there.

And seriously considered changing my major. They have so much fun – and they are cancer nurses! They just laugh and joke around and have a blast. And my grandma is, like, a celebrity with them. They love her.

But, ugh, it was so much work. And I have another story due a week from tomorrow! But I’m going to do it on Weight Watchers since I tried it out and my mom has done it and she has people at her work doing it. It’ll be interesting.

(As a side note: I might have gotten a job! I swallowed my pride and called my old work, a daycare, to find out if they were hiring. When I was there, they were always hiring. And they were! I’m going to go tomorrow after my morning class to fill out an application and probably see some familiar faces!)

(As a side, side note: I’m never ordering something new on Amazon again! I bought both of my textbook used and they are in mint condition. They look like new textbooks! Amazing.)

Leave a Reply

