Job fairing for dummies

On Thursday, I attended a job fair. I found out about it about a week ago when I arrived super early for my Wednesday morning class and they had flyers sitting out near where I was sitting.

So I was excited, as I have been searching and searching and searching and searching for a job. Frankly, it’s getting kind of ridiculous.

So, I went. I had copies of my resumes printed out and looking spiffy. I was dressed for success and even kept my glasses on, which I think makes me look older than fifteen. At least, I’m hoping they do. My hair even turned out fantastic. I was ready to get a job!

So let’s give a little run-down of the conversations I had with every job prospect:

Me: Hi! My name is Stephany!
Job Prospect: Hi! My name is Yoda.
Silence.
Me: So! What kind of jobs do you have?

I mean, am I supposed to work that hard? I thought they were just supposed to start talking about their company and the jobs they have. Is there a Job Fairing for Dummies book that I missed?

And, seriously, I love the Internet as much as the next guy but does EVERY JOB have to have an online application? I feel that every time I submit an online application, it goes to Egypt or something. I never get a response and it usually gets sent to their corporate office where they decide if I’m a “right fit” for their company.

Ehhh. I don’t know. I have a lot of online applications to fill out, I guess. It should be a blast…

Leave a Reply

