Don’t put all your eggs in Obama’s basket

So, of course, as any good blogger would, I have to write a post about the most historic day in history. (Is that redundant? Oh well.)

Yesterday, January 20th, 2009, our first African-American President was sworn into office. I watched all the pomp and circumstance from 8 in the morning until 4:30 in the afternoon. And it was magical.

It was just amazing to see all those people show up, to hear all of their stories, and to see how hopeful they are. President Obama is coming into office with a 71% (that number might be skewed, but it’s in the 70’s) approval rating. If I remember correctly, the last time a President came into office with numbers like that was President John F. Kennedy.

So yesterday was a day filled with celebration, parades, and balls. President Obama had to go to TEN balls last night! And today the real work starts.

I voted for Obama. I am a Republican and quite conservative by many standards but I like the way Obama ran his campaign over John McCain. McCain spent a lot of his campaign bashing Obama. Of course, bashing your opponent is nothing new but I feel like McCain spent 80% of his campaign bashing and 20% letting the people know what he would do if he became president. While Obama spent 80% of the time letting the people know what he would do if he became president and 20% of the time bashing McCain. And his ideas made sense.

And, honestly, George Bush screwed us up. Big time. I was never a Bush hater. I rolled my eyes at “Countdown to 2009” bumper stickers and tuned out the bashing. He was my president and I was going to respect him no matter what. But he really didn’t do a good job, plain and simple. Our economy is terrible, this situation in Iraq is such a mess, and important issues such as healthcare and education were never addressed it seems.

And I’m not putting all my hope in Obama. Yes, I think he’s the change we’re looking for. He is new, fresh, and young. He has some great ideas. But he’s not going to solve all our problems. He is going to do his best but he is just one man.

Honestly, if I’m going to put my hope in someone, I can think of Someone much better. I got Someone on my side who rose from the dead, walked on water, and made blind men see. Jesus didn’t give a year-long campaign saying what He was going to do if you would just accept Him as Savior. He did things, whether people liked it or not. He’s the one I’m putting my hope in. Someone I know will deliver on His promises and could never, ever disappoint me.

I am looking forward to the next 4 years with President Obama. I think he will bring a lot of needed change to our country. I do think his approval rating will go down within the year but that’s life.

And, come on, his daughters are just way too cute! Malia, who is 10, is gorgeous and so composed and confident. It was so cute how she was taking pictures during the inauguration. And little Sasha, who is 7, makes me smile every time I see her. She does like to bounce, it seems! They are adorable and it’ll be fun watching them grow up!

2 Responses to “Don’t put all your eggs in Obama’s basket”

  1. shalay Says:

    Yes! I couldn’t agree more with your post! Very well said. 🙂

  2. The Nanny Says:

    Just wanted to say–Good for you for considering another candidate other than your party’s!!! I am a very liberal democrat and I know it was difficult for me to even think of considering McCain. Props to you!!!

Leave a Reply

