9 resolutions for 2009

9. Become a mentor.
This is something I’ve wanted to do for a while now. I think it was on my list for the past 2 years. At my church, we actually have a mentoring program and we even have one for children whose fathers were in prison (perfect for me, right?). I love kids and I’d love to be a mentor. It would be nice to be needed and for someone to bond with. I just really think I need to first become closer to the True Mentor before I can be successful at it.

8. Reconnect with old friends.
There are so many friends I’ve lost touch with, in college and high school. I have one friend from high school that is actually going to be in Anisah’s wedding and I’m meeting her and Anisah for breakfast on Saturday. Sarah was the mother of our group. She is a girl so full of life and hope in Jesus and will knock down anyone who gets in her way. She’s amazing. She’s the type of friend you can go to when you have a problem and count on to tell you the truth. And there are many others I’d like to become closer to.

7. Have a heart-to-heart with my dad.
This is going to be the toughest one. I haven’t spoken to my dad in over 13 months and I hesitate to even pick up the phone and call him. He doesn’t take any blame but I think I need to tell him how much he has affected my self-esteem and how much he’s affected who I am as a person. This might be in person or it might be through a letter. I’m not sure I can face him and say the things I need to say. I’m not expecting tears from him. I’m expecting him to deny everything and lay everything on my mom and on me. But in order for me to be in a successful relationship, I need to sort out my feelings for my dad.

6. Get serious about writing a novel.
So, the way I’d like my life to pan out is me marrying, have a family, and writing novels. That’s the way I want to live my life. So I’d really like to get serious about writing a novel. The first thing I have to do is sort between the billions I have circulating in my head and on my computer. There are so many story ideas I have and I need to find one and stick with it and do some real writing! I’d like to be halfway done with writing a novel by the end of 2009. And I’m going to work real hard to make that happen!

5. Go on at least one date.
I know I made you chuckle with this one! Honestly, I haven’t been on a date since August 2004. FOUR AND A HALF YEARS! I’m not going to find my future husband by sitting on my hands. I need to get out there! I need to flirt and be cute. I need to have some sort of social life and some sort of dating life. And I will. My goal is one date this year! I can achieve that. Right? And, yes, my friends, I am all for blind dates. SET ME UP!

4. Attend my first gynecology appointment.
I didn’t mean to make you cringe with this one. But I’m 21 years old and I need to start going. UGH! I really don’t want to. I know I’m just another patient with the gynecologist but it still makes me nervous. But I know I need to see one and make sure everything is in proper working order. Yuck.

3. Get a good job and pay off my credit cards.
I really need to find a job. A good job. One that pays well and can be flexible with school. I’ve been looking (albeit half-heartedly) for one and I think I have some good leads where I know they are hiring currently. So I’ll be following up on those next week to see if I can get hired anywhere! Plus, I have some serious credit cards that need to be payed off. While they were godsends when I first got them, they’ve become nuisances ever since!

2. Start living a healthier lifestyle.
Obviously, this is a given for about 90% of people. We all want to lose weight and be more healthy and fit. This is true for me. I was wayyy fitter a year ago. I was actually at my lowest weight since middle school a year ago. And I’d definitely like to be there (and skinnier) by this time next year. I just need to buckle down. Drink more water, work out more, and watch my portions. I also need to seriously cut down on my junk food. My lifestyle needs to change dramatically.

1. Fall back in love with Jesus.
This is suchhh a big one for me! Me and Jesus haven’t exactly been on the same page this year. We’re in two completely different books. And I’d like to be in the same one again. I’ve been half-heartedly attending church because I don’t believe in going just to go. If I’m going to go to church, it’s because I believe in it and what they preach. And that I am practicing what they preach. I need to fully surrender myself to my Lord and Savior. Easier said than done, right? But I think I’m happiest when I’m following Jesus and letting Him steer my car.

One Response to “9 resolutions for 2009”

  1. shalay Says:

    This is gonna sound weird, but I actually found your blog through Celebrity Baby Blog. Just reading this, I can relate to you about so many things! I’m 22 and I also want to be a writer. I’m married, but I never in a million years thought I would be! Anyway, I enjoyed reading about you, feel free to stop by my blog sometime!
    P.S. Don’t worry about the gynecology thing. It’s not so bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

