Learning a lesson

Well, the Lord is leading us through another valley.

I don’t think there’s been a time in my life where I feel completely, 100% secure in our finances. OK, maybe when I was, like five and thought my family was perfect. We’ve never had tons of money to throw around. For one thing, when my parents were together, my dad blew his paycheck on gambling so my mom had to try to pay everything on a day care teacher’s salary (which isn’t much).

Once my mom divorced my dad, when I was in 6th grade, we continued to suffer with our money. Dad barely, if ever, paid child support so it was just my mom. We had to survive on my mom’s school loan checks, which were a BLESSING! Otherwise, we wouldn’t have made it.

So I’m not a stranger to financial struggle. I get it. Totally. It’s something I’ve begun to accept. This is why I can’t wait to actually start teaching. And I think teaching gets a bad rap. Sure, we’re not getting paid six figures but beginning teachers make about $35,000 a year. That’s not bad. You can live on $35,000 a year. So I’m excited to start teaching and help Mom and I get back on our feet.

But that’s four months from now.

For the next 4 months, we have to learn to live a very simple life. I’m not going to help with finances at all. Mom is going to be working 60-70 hours a week to make ends not even meet. And my loan check is going to be delayed because I kept putting off checking my financial aid until a week before classes started. Bleh.

When I called the financial aid offices today and found out that the forms I submitted last Friday are going to take 2-4 weeks to process. So that means I won’t find out until September 11th at the earliest about my loan. Worst case, I’ll get my check the first week of October. Best case, in about 2 1/2 weeks.

God is teaching me patience. He’s teaching me to trust Him. I have to trust He will lead me out of this valley. He has my best interest at heart. I know this. I just now have to believe it.

Leave a Reply

