This is why my mommy is better than your mommy

I had to drop my mom off at work at 7 a.m. this morning, which is an hour and a half before she “officially” starts work. I had an orientation to attend at 8:30 a.m. in Tampa. So she had to get up early and wasn’t able to run, as she does most mornings.

THEN…she had to stay at work until 5:45 p.m., since I was stuck in Tampa until 4:45 p.m. She gets off work at 5 p.m. So that is a total of 2 hours, 15 minutes that she had to be at work for no reason.

I’m not done.

I picked Mom up at 5:45 p.m. Not to take her home. Oh, no. I picked her up to take her to her second job, where she will work until 9 p.m.

And when she gets home, she’ll make dinner for me.

This is why I, in some ways, dread becoming a mother. I could never come close to being like her. She is so self-sacrificing and completely devoted to my brother and I. I’m the luckiest girl in the world to have a mother (and best friend) like her.

She is definitely sacrificing a lot for my education. She wants me to focus on school and not have anything else affecting my schooling, which is why she’s working 2 jobs (about 60 hours a week) so I can focus solely on school. This semester, I can’t work at all because my final internship is going to take up all my time. And she’s sacrificing once again for me.

If I could even become HALF the mother she is, I would be content.

Leave a Reply

