A prayer answered

Yesterday, I visited the elementary school where I will be doing my student teaching internship. I wanted to meet my cooperating teacher since I would be with him for these next 17 weeks, Monday-Friday. I was anxious, excited, and very nervous.

What if I hated the school, hated him?

I had to deal with that above answer in my previous internship. I hated the school (the staff and teachers were very unfriendly and the classrooms were disgusting). And I also hated my teacher (her word of advice: “If I had to do this over again, I would never have become a teacher.”). It was an awful internship. I felt sad and discouraged after every day, being in her classroom. I began to question if teaching was really the right career path for me.

This school is so different. The teachers joke around with each other and have fun. They aren’t disillusioned about teaching. They enjoy their jobs, even if it’s not the easiest.

It’ll be a different situation for me. In the morning, until lunch, I’ll be with a female teacher, teaching reading and writing. In the afternoon, after lunch, I’ll be with a male teacher, teaching math, science, and social studies. I think it’ll be fun!

I was very happy the entire time I was there. The school seemed to fit me. I really, really want to get a job there when I graduate in December. It seems like a great school.

The best part was my male teacher’s statement during the time I was there. He said, “You know, I can’t change the world, but I can change the lives of the 50 kids I have this year.”

I’m stealing that.

Leave a Reply

